National Teams

Selection announced for multiple Belarus friendlies in sight for the U21s

Published: 13-05-2024 12:34

The Malta U21 Team is back in action in the June international window rolling with a double home friendly fixture against Belarus.

Both fixtures are separated by three days, the first scheduled for Wednesday 5th June, followed by the second friendly fixture on Saturday 8th June.

These fixtures will serve for the team as preparation ahead of the next Qualifying matches starting at the tail end of summer, it is also a perfect opportunity for coach Ivan Woods to assess and take a closer look at the members of his squad at the closure of a long and tiring domestic season.

This international window also provides the opportunity for a small number of newcomers in this squad to step in, try to excel and gain international experience, train with the rest of the squad, and generate playing time at the international level if called upon during matches.

A total of three newcomers in the squad were selected on Monday morning by Malta U21 Coach Ivan Woods,

Miguel Azzopardi and Leonardo Agius who both play their club football with Żabbar St. Patrick, have also contributed to an astonishing season for Żabbar, assisting the team in attaining promotion back to the top flight.

They are joined by talented Valletta FC forward Keyon Ewurum who is still 17 years of age but who is making good progress, as in making great strides, indeed catching the eye of the Technical center coaches in being selected and thus promoted at this U21 level for these two friendly fixtures.

29-man Provisional Squad selected by Coach Ivan Woods reads as follows:-

Goalkeepers – Dylan Ciappara (Mosta FC), Matthias Debono (Naxxar Lions FC), Miguel Spiteri (Luqa St. Andrews FC), Hugo Sacco (Hibernians FC).

Central Defenders – Matthew Ellul (Żabbar St. Patrick FC), Owen Spiteri (Floriana FC), Sven Xerri (Santa Lucia FC), Deacon Abela (Swieqi United FC), Jake Vassallo (Mosta FC), Miguel Azzopardi (Żabbar St. Patrick FC), Jake Micallef (Leixoes).

Midfielders – Kurt Bondin (Żabbuġ Rangers FC), Andrew Borg (Gżira United FC), Matthew Debattista (Melita FC), Nathan Agius (Mosta FC), Daniel Letherby (Santa Lucia FC), Leonardo Agius (Żabbar St. Patrick), Gianluca Sciberras (Mosta FC), Aleandron Garzia (Floriana FC), Kurt Briffa (Pieta’ Hotspurs FC), Karl Mohnani (Melita FC), Mattias Ellul (Santa Lucia FC), Nikolai Micallef (Naxxar Lions FC).

Offensive Players – Mattia Veselji (Floriana FC), Andrea Zammit (Birkirkara FC), Jake Engerer (Sliema Wanderers FC), Basil Tuma (Reading FC), Brooklyn Borg (Gżira United FC), Keyon Ewurum (Valletta FC).