National Teams

Malta's National Team Gears Up: A Look at the Squad and Upcoming Friendlies

Published: 13-05-2024 11:44

As the IZIBET FA Trophy concludes season 2023/2024, the focus now shifts to the national team's upcoming commitments in the June international window. National Teams Head Coach Michele Marcolini wasted no time, revealing a 30-man squad set to partake in a rigorous pre-international window training camp starting next Thursday 16th May. The anticipation builds as Malta prepares to engage in two international friendlies whilst on a training camp in Austria: first against the Czech Republic on June 7th, followed by a game against Greece on June 11th.  Both games will be played at the Stadion Grödig in Austria.

Marcolini's squad selection sees the return of familiar faces, with Jurgen Degabriele, Alexander Satariano, Luke Tabone, and Jake Grech once again receiving the call-up after being absent in the previous international window. However, there are new additions to the selection as well, with Matias Garcia earning his maiden call-up under Marcolini's reign. Additionally, the return of Ryan Camenzuli, who missed out on the last international window due to injury, adds depth and experience to the squad.

Let's take a closer look at the 30-man squad selected by Michele Marcolini for this camp:

Rashed Al Tumi (Sliema Wanderers FC), Henry Bonello (Hamrun Spartans FC), Matthew Grech (Zabbar St Patrick's FC)

Ferdinando Apap (Hibernians FC), Jean Borg (Sliema Wanderers FC), Steve Borg (Hamrun Spartans FC), Zach Muscat (Farense - POR), Enrico Pepe (Birkirkara FC), Kurt Shaw (Hibernians FC), Luke Tabone (Haverfordwest County AFC – UK)

Myles Beerman (Sliema Wanderers FC), Jan Busuttil (Balzan FC), Ryan Camenzuli (Hamrun Spartans FC), Juan Corbalan (Hamrun Spartans FC), Matias Nicolas Garcia (Floriana FC), Jake Grech (Floriana FC), Matthew Guillaumier (FKS Stal Mielec Spolka Akcyjna - POL), Joseph Essien Mbong (Hamrun Spartans FC), Nikolai Muscat (Marsaxlokk FC), Steven Pisani (Santa Lucia FC), Teddy Teuma (Stade de Reims FC), Dunstan Vella (Floriana FC), Yannick Yankam (Lexington SC), Carlo Zammit Lonardelli (Floriana FC)

Jurgen Degabriele (Hibernians FC), Paul Mbong (Birkirkara FC), Luke Montebello (Hamrun Spartans), Kyrian Nwoko (Floriana FC), Kemar Reid (Floriana FC), Alexander Satariano (Birkirkara FC)