NT Head Coach Devis Mangia announces 30-man squad

Published: 28-10-2021 10:40
image1 (102)
National Teams Head Coach Devis Mangia has made his 30-man team selection ahead of the double header against Croatia and Slovakia on home soil.  The national team will meet up for the first training session next Monday 1st November and is scheduled to play against Croatia on Thursday 11th November and against Slovakia on the 14th  of November as part of their commitments in Group H of the European Qualifiers – World Cup 2021.   Head Coach Devis Mangia made a number of changes to the 30-man squad he chose before the games against Slovenia and Cyprus in the beginning of October in October 2021.  Mr Mangia welcomes back two of the Hibernians players, Andrei Agius and Bjorn Kristensen, that were left out in the previous international window.  The list includes San Gwann goalkeeper Cain Formosa, Valletta defender Jean Borg, and Hamrun Spartans duo Juan Carlos Corbolan and Matthew Guilaumier who returns from a long-term injury.      After having played eight matches in Group H, Malta has obtained five points, a draw against Slovakia, a win over Cyprus on home soil and a draw against the same team in Larnaca in October.  Malta lost both games against Russia, and the games against Slovenia and Croatia.     MALTA SQUAD  GOALKEEPERS Henry Bonello (Ħamrun Spartans FC); Cain Formosa (San Gwann FC); Jake Galea (Balzan FC); Matthew Grech (Pembroke Athleta FC)   DEFENDERS Andrei Agius (Hibernians); Jean Borg (Valletta FC); James Brown (St. Johnstone FC – SCO), Triston Caruana (Valletta FC); Karl Micallef (Ħamrun Spartans FC); Zach Muscat (Casa Pia - POR); Enrico Pepe (BirkirkaraFC); Kurt Shaw (Sliema Wanderers FC)   MIDFIELDERS Cain Attard (Birkirkara FC); Ryan Camenzuli (Floriana FC); Juan Carlos Corbolan (Hamrun Spartans FC); Matthew Guillaumier (Hamrun Spartans FC); Bjorn Kristensen (Hibernians FC); Adam Magri Overend (Floriana FC); Joseph Essien Mbong (Ħamrun Spartans FC); Steven Pisani (Gżira United FC); Nevin Portelli (Gżira United FC); Teddy Teuma (R.U. Saint Gilloise- BE); Dunstan Vella (Hibernians FC) FORWARDS Jurgen Degabriele (Hibernians FC); Shaun Dimech (Valletta FC); Luke Gambin (Hamrun Spartans FC); Jake Grech (Hibernians FC); Paul Mbong (Birkirkara FC); Luke Montebello (Birkirkara FC); Alexander Satariano (Frosinone Calcio- ITA)