Malta Football Association
Swieqi United see off Msida to capture Section C title
Apr 19, 2018
Posted in:
Youths Section B
Youths Section C

Swieqi United are the winners of Section C of the Malta FA Youth League.

Needing a win to secure the title and fend off the challenge of Naxxar Lions, who entered the final fixtures only one point behind, Swieqi United completed their mission in style as they beat Msida St Joseph 6-1 at the Centenary Stadium.


Luke Mamo and Matthew Camilleri gave Swieqi United a 2-0 lead inside the opening 29 minutes.


Joshua Micalled pulled one back for Msida early in the second half but Philip Thomas Debono restored Swieqi’s two-goal lead.


The Oranges ended the game with a bang, scoring three goals in the last six minutes after Msida were reduced to 10 men following the dismissal of Mattei Cini for denying the opponents a clear scoring opportunity.


Benjamin Caruana, Andrew Shaw and Mirco Vella found the net for a 6-1 victory.


At the end of the match, Dr Matthew Paris, the Malta FA Vice-President, presented the winners’ trophy to the jubilant Swieqi United players.


Jake Scerri was Swieqi’s top scorer in Section C with a total of 11 goals.


Meanwhile, Naxxar Lions, also promoted to Section B, beat Sirens 5-0 at the Sirens Stadium to finish second.


Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners