Malta Football Association
Hibernians aiming to write history in the UEFA WCL
Aug 23, 2016
Posted in:
BOV Women's 1st Div


Maltese champions Hibernians will be representing the island of Malta in the UEFA Women’s Champions League for the third consecutive time, with their European campaign initiating this evening with a tough encounter against Turkish side Konak Beledyespor.


The Paolites have been drawn in Group 9 of this qualification stage where they will be facing the already-mentioned Konak, Ferencvaros from Hungary and the Netherlands champions Twente, who will be hosting this mini-tournament as well.


Hibernians will be targeting another positive European campaign following last year’s historic point in their last fixture against the side from the Faroe Islands, Klasvikar Kvinnur. Also, in that group stage they crossed swords with Stjarnan from Iceland and Cypriot champions Apollon Ladies, with whom features the Maltese international Rachel Cuschieri, who was also protagonist in that encounter.


Previously, Hibernians had played in Europe the year before, when they were drawn in a group formed by Raheny from the Republic of Ireland, NSA Sofia of Bulgaria and Olimpia Cluj from Romania, with the mini-tournament being hosted by the latter. During that campaign, Hibernians returned to Malta with no points, yet they managed to put on impressive displays, particularly against the Irish side where at the interval they were leading 1-0 while until the final minutes of the match they were level on matters at 1-1, until Raheny find the winning goal which eventually helped them to qualify to the round of 32.










Hibernians Women’s Team’s player-list:

·         Rita Tagliaferro (GK)

·         Rachel Borg (GK)

·         Mandy Debono (DF)

·         Maria Azzopardi (DF)

·         Charlene Zammit (DF)

·         Rebecca Bajada (DF)

·         Jade Flask (DF)

·         Gabrielle Tonna (DF)

·         Dionne Tonna (DF) (Captain)

·         Rodiana Borg (DF)

·         Shona Zammit (MF)

·         Corissa Vella White (MF)

·         DorianneTheuma (MF)

·         Francesca Chircop (MF)

·         Ruth Steer Chetham (MF)

·         Nicole Borg (ST)

·         Emma Xuereb (ST)

·         Martina Borg (ST)

Hibernians Women’s Team’s fixtures:

23rd August, Tuesday

vs. Konak Beledyespor (Turkey) - 18:30

Stadium: Sportpark Vondersweijde, Oldenzaa
Referee: Barbara Poxhofer

25th August, Thursday

vs. Twente (Netherlands) - 18:30
Stadium: Sportpark De Peuverweide, Geesteren
Referee: Tess Olofsson


28th August, Sunday

vs. Ferencvaros (Hungary) - 15:30

Stadium: Sportpark De Peuverweide, Geesteren

Referee: Tess Olofsson

Official Sponsors
Commercial Partners